Department of Chemistry

Department of chemistry established in the year 2019 with the courses B.Sc. Chemistry. Presently the department running for the courses of UG level and it is affiliated to Kuman University Nainital. Currently 240(80 seats in each year) Seats are sanctioned by the university in B.Sc. UG level.  After completion of three-year degree program with chemistry students have future scope in field of higher education in branches of chemistry like applied chemistry, analytical chemistry, organic, inorganic, physical, industrial, food technology, forensic science, environmental, Nuclear, Geochemistry, medicinal, chemical engineering, etc.

Chemistry council is constituted every year by the department by joining all the students of chemistry. In this council, final year student is nominated on the basis of his/her performance as the president of the council. All the departmental activities are carried out with the cooperation of council members.

Presently 98 students in BSc Part I and 46 students in Part II are enrolled in chemistry and studying.



Department of Botany

The department of Botany came into existence in 2019 with commencement of undergraduate classes. This department focuses to prepare the students desirous of learning, understanding, teaching and practicing various aspects of plant science At present, 40 seats are sanctioned for B.ScIst  year students by Kumaun University, Nainital. Since its inception, the department has grown in quality as well as quantity. Presently, Botany is being offered up to third year B.Sc. level. The department is actively engaged environment awareness activities.

Our mission is to strive for an excellent environment for learning and research in Botany / plant sciences and produce graduates equipped with skills necessary to fulfil their role in contemporary society.


Department of Zoology


The department of Zoology established in the year 2019 with the courses B.Sc. Zoology. Presently the department running for the courses of UG level and it is affiliated to Kuman University Nainital. Currently 120 (40 seats in each year) seats are sanctioned by the University in B.Sc. UG level. The students who will complete their graduation with Zoology have future scopes in the field of Higher Education, Sericulture, Aquaculture, Silk Board of India, Agriculture, Fisheries, Zoological Survey of India and Many other laboratories.

The outcome will be analysed after passing out of the first batch. Zoology is classical subject with lot of scope in the field of Higher Education, Industry and Academy.


About The Department of Mathematics

Welcome to the department of mathematics at Govt. Degree College Sitarganj. The department was started in 2019 together with the establishment of the science faculty in the college. The department offers three years undergraduate programs in mathematics. The department of mathematics is dedicated to impart high quality education in mathematics to the undergraduate students.

Department of Physics


The department of Physics was established in the year 2019 with the program. Presently, there are one faculty member in the department. The department runs B.Sc. programs in the annual mode. Physics department has 40 seats. The department has its own department library. There are about 100 books available in the departmental library. The department comprises of U.G laboratories which are well equipped with the instruments.  Physics department encompasses an independent society “innovation “which organizes various extracurricular and cocurricular activities for students.